Quoting Mozart, anticipating Schönberg

Desolation. © Charles Thibo

Where to begin? With the incredibly sad introduction of the first movement? With the death of the composer’s mother? With the inexplicable lightness and dynamics of the last two movements, so diametrically opposed to the introduction? In March 1813, Franz Schubert wrote one of his very first string quartets, String Quartet No. 4 in C major, D.46. C major is often associated with a joyous or solemn mood, but this first movement has no joy and no solemnity, it exudes darkness, fear and heaviness, a broken soul, a wretched state of mind, the few glimmers of light appear like pure cynicism.

Continue reading!

A minimalist sketch of the cycle of emotions

Tranquility. © Charles Thibo

A cold morning. The sun about to rise. The river almost motionless. The first bars zen-like. A meditation. A look at the present – the positive, the negative aspects. Incrementally melancholy creeps into the melody. The inevitable look back. The look forward. Forced optimism. Life has to go on, but it feels like dancing with a reluctant partner. The first three of Franz Schubert’s “Moments Musicaux”, D.780 grant us a look into the composer’s soul and testify of his musical genius. Schubert managed to achieve maximal expressiveness with minimal means: lean melodies, a subtle play with dissonance to introduce the languishing moment, the slight flicker of pain, the heavy sigh.

Continue reading!

A young composer always on the edge

Fractures. © Charles Thibo

Impatience. That’s most likely one of my most characteristic traits. Impatience is one of the traits of Franz Schubert’s String Quartet in B flat major (D.112, Op. posth. 168). Perhaps that is why like it so much. Interestingly I become rather relaxed when I listen to it, just as if Schubert’s impatience is neutralizing my own impatience.

Continue reading!

Beautiful world, where are you?

Reflections. © Charles Thibo

This quartet feels like a good-bye, and I would like to dedicate the post to a certain priest that played a substantial part in the posts of my fellow blogger readonmydear. He has left Ireland and moved on to Italy to do his duty and we, readonmydear’s readers, will miss him. String Quartet No. 13 in A minor, D.804, was written by Franz Schubert in early 1824 for two violins, viola and cello.

Continue reading!