Sketches for Four Hands and a Piano

Gavrilin's cadences are quick as a carousel. © Charles Thibo
Gavrilin’s cadences are quick as a carousel. © Charles Thibo

Hey, someone is having fun here! Actually, two people are. Two pianists, Fanny Solter and Eva-Maria Rieckert, playing Gavrilin’s “Piano Sketches for Four Hands”. Listen to this – it’s halfway between romanticism and jazz! Made in Russia. Who would have thought that?

Continue reading!

Bells Speaking of Joy, Love, Terror and Death

Lento lugubre - Rachmaninov's 4th movement of "The Bells". © Charles Thibo
Lento lugubre – Rachmaninov’s 4th movement of “The Bells”. © Charles Thibo

Today, our journey takes us to Rome. The Russian composer Sergei Rachmaninov stayed here at the Piazza de Spagna in 1913 for two months in the flat of Modest Tchaikovsky, where his brother Pyotr Tchaikovsky had composed several of his works. At the time, Rachmaninov was deeply worried about his personal future, suffering from frequent diseases, tiredness, a lack of inspiration and the fact that his home country was moving to the edge of civil war. He had left Russia hastily towards the end of 1912 and moved first to Switzerland, then to Italy. Continue reading!

Russian Beauties and Black Chocolate

A sunset as melancholic as Rachmaninov's Trio. © Charles Thibo
A sunset as melancholic as Rachmaninov’s Trio. © Charles Thibo

If music would have a taste, the “Trio élégiaque No. 1”, composed by the Russian composer and pianist Sergei Rachmaninov, would taste like black chocolate. Bittersweet.  Melting on your tongue and exploding in a firework of sensations.
Continue reading!